Funky Revolutions

“Up on the down. Down on the beat. The funk of the slaveships become the sound in the street. The funk in the strength in the funk of the weak. The funk in the word when you decide to speak.” - The Last Poets, FUNK.

Funky Revolutions is based on the One. Since 1994, host, Khalid, and guests, have invited you to groove & celebrate the history of Africana music - the African diaspora and its musical reflections around the world.

We explore the past, present and future of the funk. From introducing trip-hop to Montreal in the early 90’s, to supporting hip-hop’s underground, to presenting ethno-musicographies of jazz, soul, reggae and afro-funk, Funky Revolutions embraces all grooves & the revolutionary spirit of the Funk, from the Black Arts Movement of the 70s to Indigenous defiances & liberations in the (post) colonial world.

Interested in funk, neo-soul and R&B from the underground? Tune in Saturday’s 2-4 pm.

“Free your mind and our collective ass will follow”. Thank you Funkadelic.

Department: 
Music
  • Saturday 14:00-16:00
Program Category: 
Hip Hop and Funk

Funky Revolutions Archives

64 kbps128 kbps
Saturday October 24, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday October 17, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday October 10, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday October 3, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday September 26, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday September 19, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday September 12, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday September 5, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday August 29, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday August 22, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday August 15, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday August 8, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday August 1, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday July 25, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday July 18, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday July 11, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday July 4, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownloadPlayDownload
Saturday June 27, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownload
Saturday June 20, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownload
Saturday June 13, 2020
Entire ShowPlayDownload
Hour 1PlayDownload
Hour 2PlayDownload